Question about markings, size amongst other things.

Facts, Tips, Hints, and other snippets about the CCKW, Chevy, or DUKW
CQ Bookstore
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant

Question about markings, size amongst other things.

Post by CQ Bookstore »

Hello.
I am new to this hobby, so sorry if I ask something you might consider obvious.. :?

Anyway, time to mark my GMC. I'm gonna order the paint masks from Rick Larsen and would like to ask if someone can tell me the correct size (height in inches) for the following:

Front unit markings.
Rear unit markings.

Caution Left hand drive and Max Speed 30 Mph
Stars on front bumber, back of cargo bed and rear skid.

I have also seen some pictures og GMC's with stenicilling on the gasoline tank. Was this common and what did it say?

I found the old vehicle number on the hood and the star there, plus the stars on the side of the cab. That made my day. :D

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Tom V.G.Nilsen
Drammen, Norway
1944 GMC CCKW A2, Open
Kees51
First Lieutenant
First Lieutenant

Post by Kees51 »

Hello Tom

A lot of info on the marking of your truck is right here on the site: http://cckw.org/tm9-850.htm

The stenciling on the gas tank probably is the shipping information of the truck, length, width, weight, that sort of thing.

There also is an excellent book you might want to buy "Marquages et Organisation" by Emile Becker. It is in French and German and tells all there is to know about markings.
Bill_Wolf
Brigadier General
Brigadier General

Post by Bill_Wolf »

Hello Tom,

Kees information is correct most of what you need is on the site.

Rick is highly skilled in knowing what is supposed to be on your truck as per regulations. All you have to do is tell him which division, battalion, company, and vehicle number and he will make them for you.

The only variation is the size of the front bumper height which would be winch versus non-winch.

Rick does superb work.

Bill
CQ Bookstore
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant