another dilema...flywheel interchanges

General Discussion about the WW2 Chevy Trucks 2 and 4 wheel drive. Technical aspects should be discussed the the CCKW Tech forum. Forsale/Wanted should be addressed in the CCKW Forsale or Wanted catagory
daveyboy
First Lieutenant
First Lieutenant

another dilema...flywheel interchanges

Post by daveyboy »

seems that the previous owner of my 42 G506 installed at one time a 1938 block into my 1942 chevy truck, using the origianl trucks bellhousing! (I looked up the serial numbers, its a 1938 216 block)

Right now, my mechanic has just pulled the old (1938) engine getting ready to install the replacement (1958 block)

I bought a running 1958 block complete including starter.

his quick assement before going any further was that he noticed the mounting of the flywheels was different. (6 bolt vs 4 bolt) thats when he called me and stopped for the day.

(Bear with me.. I havent seen any of this yet. I am a distance from my mechanic, and am getting updates. I am only looking for answers so I can tell him how to proceeed with the minimal loss of down time. I didnt expect this sort of "hickup" in the project to happen)

his quick measurments says the flywheels diameters are the same for both (Around 14")

Anyway, the flywheel on the 38' block does NOT have the same mounting bolt pattern as the newer 58 block, so we need to use the flywheel from the 58, as it obviously came off of the engine.

problem is, the flywheel starter ring gear on the newer engine is a fine tooth. the old had a wide tooth.

MY question is simple:

Can I install this flywheel with fine teeth along with the matching fine tooth starter into the original trucks bellhousing, and the starter and ring gear will mesh properly?

Are the flywheel / crank centerline to starter drive pinion centerline the same distance in all applications from 38 onwards?