New CCKW Owner - Manuals other than 9-801

Questions and requests about Technical Repairs of the CCKW
Bailout
Draftee

New CCKW Owner - Manuals other than 9-801

Post by Bailout »

Board members... Unless there is a major issue, I'll be bringing home a late 42 353 (141K serial number range) truck next weekend. I'm trying to educate myself as best I can to prepare for the chores of ownership. The vehicle is a runner, but I'd like to slowly go through the vehicle and if not restore, at least perform those services which probably have not been done on it over the last several years. Although I'm not a mechanic per-se, I am mechanically inclined enough to be able to perform maintenance on most things, provided I have the proper instructions/documentation (Youtube also makes me very brave).

My question for the group = Other than TM 9-801, what do I need to take proper care of and repair this vehicle?

It appears that 10-1501 may be useful, but I've also seen 9-1801 and 9-1802 may be of use. I'm confused about which one is used for what... I'm thinking that some of the manuals are more user level vs. repair/depot level but don't understand which one is which. I'd also like to know (completely opinion) who provides the best print reproductions? I've seen Canham & Sons Books ~ The Manual Guys, Vehicles of Victory, etc. I'm not afraid to spend money to acquire the right manuals to be able to take care of this vehicle the way it should be.

Respectfully thanking you in advance for any assistance you may be able to render.
mudflap
First Lieutenant
First Lieutenant

Re: New CCKW Owner - Manuals other than 9-801

Post by mudflap »

Hello Bailout,

My truck is a '44. I found TM9-801 (1944) for free on many websites. I purchased TM9-1801 (powertrain, chassis & bodies) and SNL G-508 (ordnance supply catalog) from these guys: http://www.tm-ww2.com I was also interested in some of the earlier stuff, so I purchased TM10-1147 (1941 maintenance manual) from the same place.